Winner of the 1962 Super Prestige Pernod regularity criterion - Jo De Roo

by Matthias Van Milders on 17 June 2021
Does the person responsible for the engraving think that a Dutchman is bound to be called Joop? As a matter of fact, the winner of the 1962 Super Prestige Pernod Trophy was simply called Jo. Johan was another option. And that would soon become Joop. Jo De Roo was the first Dutchman to win the regularity criterion that later led to the World Championship and the UCI World Ranking. The trophy bearing the name of the aniseedy beverage is awarded to the rider who scores the most points over the whole season in a selection of international races. 1962 was a fantastic year for De Roo, a year when he came out on top in the Bordeaux-Paris, Paris-Tours and the Tour of Lombardy races. But it was not only in that award-winning year that the rider from Zeeland went home after an amazing successful performance. He won the 1965 Tour of Flanders and went on to win many other major races.


Detailed view

serviceKoers - EN

Your browser does not meet the minimum requirements to view this website. The browsers below are compatible. If you do not have one of these browsers, click on the icon to download the desired browser.